Aina & Agu Dropped As Nigerian Football Coach Releases 23 Man List For World Cup


The duo of Ola Aina and Mikel Agu were the two players dropped as coach Gernot Rohr released his final 23-man squad for this summer’s FIFA World Cup on Sunday.


Joel Obi and Ogenyi Onazi who were heavily criticized for their performance in the Super Eagles’ 2-1 loss to England in Saturday’s friendly however made the list.

In the list is Crotone striker Simeone Nwankwo who only made his international debut for the Super Eagles in their 1-1 draw against Democratic Republic of Congo in Port Harcourt last Monday.

Also included are the trio of Tyronne Ebuehi, Chidozie Awaziem and Bryan Idowu.

Notable names like skipper John Mikel Obi, Victor Moses, Kelechi Iheanacho, Wilfred Ndidi, Alex Iwobi, Odion Ighalo and Ahmed Musa made the cut.

The only Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) on the list is Ikechukwu Ezenwa who is one of the three goalkeepers selected.

The Super Eagles next friendly comes up in Austria on Wednesday against Czech Republic.

Their opening game at the World Cup is against Croatia on June 16.

Super Eagles 23-man squad for 2018 World Cup:


Ikechukwu Ezenwa
Francis Uzoho
Daniel Akpeyi


Leon Balogun
William Troost-Ekong
Kenneth Omeruo
Bryan Idowu
Chidozie Awaziem
Shehu Abdullahi
Elderson Echiejile
Tyronne Ebuehi


Mikel Obi
Ogenyi Onazi
Joel Obi
John Ogu
Wilfred Ndidi
Oghenekaro Etebo


Odion Ighalo
Ahmed Musa
Victor Moses
Alex Iwobi
Kelechi Iheanacho
Simeon Nwankwo

Watch The Premier League

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *